Garage Sale Thinking

garage-sale

My son’s dresser is falling apart.  It was a hand-me-down from a friend a few years ago, so it’s definitely served its time.  My son doesn’t mind that the drawers stick and the handles are loose, but I’m ready for an upgrade.

There is almost always a garage sale within walking distance of my house every weekend and a dresser feels like a garage sale opportunity.  I know it’s a gamble, but I head out on foot, figuring I can always come back with the car if I strike gold.

The findings, however, are predictable:  chaotic collections of random debris.  I weave through a maze of dolls with dirty faces, piles of battered shoes, and stacks of mismatched place settings.  There is a card table full of chipped Christmas mugs and a “FREE!” basket overflowing with things the owner cannot bring himself to throw away but acknowledges have no real value.  The yard seems so full of grunge and brokenness that anything less damaged catches my attention and draws me in.  Gee, this truss looks brand new!  It makes no sense and I know it, yet somehow it is still appealing.  Thus I walk home with a bright red spatula (in the original package!) and a spotless Cracker Barrel coin purse.

I know the point of garage sales is often to have no expectations and simply enjoy the hunt.  But when there are expectations–a dresser, for example–should we really settle for something different just because it’s not as horrible as everything else?  I don’t go to a restaurant and order the least moldy grilled cheese sandwich they have (although, come to think of it, I do hope that’s what they bring me).  No, I order a grilled cheese and expect it to be fabulous!

I’m not suggesting that the grimy stuff and the clutter and even the more sanitary temporary distractions don’t serve a purpose–we know they do.  We know we’re learning lessons and overcoming obstacles and it all totally counts, but let’s not be too quick to settle for less.

So, without getting in the way of the universe and what it’s trying to bring us, let’s honor our expectations.  Let’s believe that we know what we need, that we know who and what are good for us, and that we know what we want, by golly!  Dig deep, take a look.  What do I really want? 

Then trust.
Trust yourself.
Trust your instincts.
Trust your gut.
And trust in the Powers That Be to work with you to make it happen.
Don’t be coaxed in by something (or someone) “less” just because it looks a little shinier next to all the muck.
Nope.
Not this time.
.

.

.

Now, about that dresser…

 

Leave a comment